Dracaena fragrans

Home » Dracaena fragrans

Dracaena fragrans is a green shrub plant with a wide trunk with long, slender foliage with yellow hues. Its very tropical appearance its large size and two trunks make dracaena fragrans an absolutely unique shrub plant.

Plant – Dracaena fragrans – Green Corner Florist – Montreal Florist

Quick information:

  • Family: Agavaceae
  • Type: shrub
  • Origin: Tropical Africa
  • Color: green
  • Exposure: subdued sun
  • Flowering : summer
  • Soil: potting soil
  • Height: up to 3 meters in pot

Location and temperature

Dracaena fragrans is a plant that loves bright light, but should not be placed directly under the sun’s rays that could burn its foliage. It can also tolerate lower lighting, but its growth will be slower and its foliage less provided.

Native to tropical Africa, it is a plant that tolerates heat well. It is also perfectly adapted to indoor temperatures and flourishes without problems at a temperature of about 20° C. Its growth will stop if the temperature drops below 17°C.

The only thing that the dracaena fragrans does not like is dry air, it is advisable to spray the foliage if the plant becomes too dry which can happen especially during the winter.

Watering:

During summer and spring, dracaena fragrans should be watered regularly, but moderately, ideally watering when the soil is dry on the surface. During the winter, preferably wait until the soil is dry for a few centimeters before watering again. It is advisable to water the dracaena fragrans with water at room temperature earlier than too cold water, thus avoiding inducing unnecessary stress to the shrub.

Repotting:

Repotting is essential if you want your plant to bloom again. The older and larger the plant, the more repotting is needed. In the early stages, repotting every 2 or 3 years is enough. Then it depends on the size of the shrub. When repotting, choose a pot with a slightly larger diameter and make sure that the bottom of the pot is pierced. Be careful, repotting in a pot that is too large will cause the roots to get lost in the soil and the plant may die.

Dracaena fragrans

Home » Dracaena fragrans

Le dracaena fragrans est une plante arbuste vert au tronc large avec un feuillage long et élancé aux teintes de jaune. Son apparence très tropicale sa grande taille et ses deux troncs font du dracaena fragrans est une plante arbuste absolument unique.

Plante – Dracaena fragrans – Fleuriste Coin Vert – Fleuriste Montréal

Information rapide :

  • Famille : Agavacées
  • Type : arbuste
  • Origine : Afrique tropicale
  • Couleur : vert
  • Exposition : soleil tamisé
  • Floraison : été
  • Sol : terreaux
  • Hauteur : jusqu’à 3 mètres en pot

Emplacement et température

Le dracaena fragrans est une plante qui aime la lumière vive, mais qui ne doit pas être placée directement sous les rayons du soleil qui pourrait bruler son feuillage. Il peut aussi tolérer un éclairage plus faible, mais sa croissance sera plus lente et son feuillage moins fournit.

Originaire d’Afrique tropicale, c’est une plante qui supporte bien la chaleur. Il est aussi parfaitement adapté aux températures intérieures et s’épanouit sans problème à une température d’environ 20°C. Sa croissance s’arrêtera si la température descend sous les 17°C.

La seule chose que le dracaena fragrans n’aime pas est l’air sec, il est conseillé de vaporiser le feuillage si la plante devient trop sèche ce qui peut arriver surtout durant l’hiver.

Arrosage :

Durant l’été et le printemps, le dracaena fragrans doit être arrosé régulièrement, mais de façon modérée, l’idéal étant d’arroser lorsque le sol est sec à la surface. Durant l’hiver, attendez préférablement que le sol soit sec sur quelques centimètres avant d’arroser de nouveau. Il est conseillé d’arroser le dracaena fragrans avec de l’eau à température ambiante plus tôt qu’une eau trop froide, évitant ainsi d’induire un stress inutile à l’arbuste.

Rempotage :

Le rempotage est essentiel si vous voulez que votre plante refleurisse. Plus la plante est vieille et grande, plus le rempotage nécessaire. Dans les premiers temps, un rempotage tous les 2 ou 3 ans est suffisant. Ensuite, cela dépend de la grosseur de l’arbuste. Lors du rempotage, choisissez un pot avec un diamètre légèrement plus grand et assurez-vous que le fond du pot est percé. Attention, le rempotage dans un pot trop grand fera en sorte que les racines vont se perdre dans la terre et la plante risque de mourir.