Philodendron palm emerald

Home » Philodendron palm emerald

Philodendron palm erald is a green plant with wide and slender foliage native to South America. Easy to maintain, this climbing plant is very popular in apartments for its depolluting characteristics.

Plant – Philodendron palm emerald – Green Corner Florist – Montreal Florist

Quick information:

  • Family: Araceae
  • Type: perennial plant
  • Origin: South America
  • Color: greenish-white flowers
  • Exposure: subdued sun
  • Flowering : summer
  • Soil: potting soil
  • Height: up to 6 meters in a natural environment

Location and temperature:

The ideal temperature for philodendron is between 18 and 25°C (64 and 77°F). It is a plant that should not be placed directly under the sun and it also fears dark and damp places. The philodendron must therefore be placed in a place that receives a subdued sun. A room that only receives the morning sun is also ideal. Thus, the temperature of a house or apartment is ideal for the growth of philodendron. If the temperature drops below 15°C (59°F), the plant’s growth will slow down considerably.

Watering:

During the summer and spring, the philodendron is watered regularly, but moderately. The ideal is to water when the soil is dry on the surface. When the soil dries, do not wait too long before watering, especially during high temperatures since the plant may suffer. In winter, wait until the soil is dry for a few centimeters before watering again. Preferably, water the philodendron with water at room temperature earlier than water that is too cold. The temperature difference could induce significant stress for the plant. If the leaves turn yellow and become softer, be sure to improve the drainage of your plant’s soil.

Repotting:

Repotting is essential if you want your plant to bloom again. The older and larger the plant, the more repotting is needed. In the early stages, repotting every 2 or 3 years is enough. Then it depends on the size of the shrub. When repotting, choose a pot with a slightly larger diameter and make sure that the bottom of the pot is pierced. Be careful, repotting in a pot that is too large will cause the roots to get lost in the soil and the plant may die.

Philodendron palm emerald

Home » Philodendron palm emerald

Le philodendron palm émerald est une plante verte au feuillage large et élancé originaire d’Amérique du Sud. Facile d’entretien, cette plante grimpante est très appréciée dans les appartements pour ses caractéristiques dépolluantes.

Plante – Philodendron palm emerald – Fleuriste Coin Vert – Fleuriste Montréal

Information rapide :

  • Famille : Aracées
  • Type : plante vivace
  • Origine : Amérique du Sud
  • Couleur : fleurs blanc verdâtre
  • Exposition : soleil tamisé
  • Floraison : été
  • Sol : terreaux
  • Hauteur : jusqu’à 6 mètres en milieu naturel

Emplacement et température :

La température idéale pour le philodendron se situe entre 18 et 25°C (64 et 77°F). C’est une plante qui ne doit pas être placée directement sous le soleil et elle redoute aussi les endroits sombre et humide. Le philodendron doit donc être placé dans un endroit qui reçoit un soleil tamisé. Une pièce qui ne reçoit que le soleil matinal est aussi idéale. Ainsi, la température d’une maison ou d’un appartement est idéale à la croissance du philodendron. Si la température descend au-dessous de 15°C (59°F), la croissance de la plante ralentira considérablement.

Arrosage :

Durant l’été et le printemps, l’arrosage du philodendron se fait régulièrement, mais de façon modérée. L’idéal étant d’arroser lorsque le sol est sec à la surface. Lorsque le sol sèche, ne pas attendre trop longtemps avant d’arroser, surtout lors de température élevée puisque la plante pourrait en souffrir. En hiver, attendez que le sol soit sec sur quelques centimètres avant d’arroser de nouveau. Préférablement, arroser le philodendron avec de l’eau à température ambiante plus tôt qu’une eau trop froide. La différence de température pourrait induire un stress important pour la plante. Si les feuilles jaunissent et deviennent plus molles, veillez à améliorer le drainage du sol de votre plante.

Rempotage:

Le rempotage est essentiel si vous voulez que votre plante refleurisse. Plus la plante est vieille et grande, plus le rempotage nécessaire. Dans les premiers temps, un rempotage tous les 2 ou 3 ans est suffisant. Ensuite, cela dépend de la grosseur de l’arbuste. Lors du rempotage, choisissez un pot avec un diamètre légèrement plus grand et assurez-vous que le fond du pot est percé. Attention, le rempotage dans un pot trop grand fera en sorte que les racines vont se perdre dans la terre et la plante risque de mourir.