Sansevieria

Home » Sansevieria

Long, wide and slender foliage of green and marbled yellow color make sansevieria a plant with a unique appearance. Not liking excess water, it can thrive in almost any conditions making it an easy-care house plant.

Plant – Sansevieria – Green Corner Florist – Montreal Florist

Quick information:

  • Family: Agavaceae / Dracaenaceae
  • Type: Perennial
  • Origin: Tropical Africa, Madagascar, India
  • Color: green, yellow
  • Exposure: bright light
  • Flowering : summer
  • Soil: potting soil
  • Height: up to 1.5 meters

Location and temperature:

The ideal temperature for sansevieria is between 18 and 21°C (64 and 70°F). Being able to withstand essentially any condition, it still fears excess water and direct sun exposure. Thus, the temperature of a house or apartment is ideal for the growth of sansevieria. If the temperature drops below 15°C (59°F), the plant’s growth will slow down and it should never be subjected to temperatures below 7°C (45°F). Not afraid of drafts, she can easily find her place close to a window.

Watering:

During the summer and spring, the watering of sansevieria is done regularly, but in a moderate way. The ideal is to water when the soil is dry on the surface. When the soil dries, do not wait too long before watering, especially during high temperatures since the plant may suffer. In winter, wait until the soil is dry for a few centimeters before watering again. Preferably, water the sansevieria with water at room temperature earlier than water that is too cold. The temperature difference could induce significant stress for the plant. If the leaves turn yellow and become softer, be sure to improve the drainage of your plant’s soil.

Repotting:

Repotting is essential if you want your plant to bloom again. The older and larger the plant, the more repotting is needed. In the early stages, repotting every 2 or 3 years is enough. Then it depends on the size of the shrub. When repotting, choose a pot with a slightly larger diameter and make sure that the bottom of the pot is pierced. Be careful, repotting in a pot that is too large will cause the roots to get lost in the soil and the plant may die.

Sansevieria

Home » Sansevieria

Un feuillage long, large et élancé de couleur vert et jaune marbré font du sansevieria une plante à l’apparence unique. N’aimant pas les excès d’eau, il peut prospérer dans presque n’importe quelles conditions ce qui en fait une plante d’intérieure facile d’entretien.

Plante – Sansevieria – Fleuriste Coin Vert – Fleuriste Montréal

Information rapide :

  • Famille : Agavacées / Dracaenacées
  • Type : vivace
  • Origine : Afrique tropicale, Madagascar, Inde
  • Couleur : vert, jaune
  • Exposition : lumière vive
  • Floraison : été
  • Sol : terreaux
  • Hauteur : jusqu’à 1.5 mètre

Emplacement et température :

La température idéale pour le sansevieria se situe entre 18 et 21°C (64 et 70°F). Pouvant résister à essentiellement n’importe quelle condition, il redoute tout de même les excès d’eau et l’Exposition directe au soleil. Ainsi, la température d’une maison ou d’un appartement est idéale à la croissance du sansevieria. Si la température descend au-dessous de 15°C (59°F), la croissance de la plante ralentira et elle ne doit jamais être soumise à des températures inférieures à 7°C (45°F). Ne craignant pas les courant d’air, elle peut aisément trouver sa place prêt d’une fenêtre.

Arrosage :

Durant l’été et le printemps, l’arrosage du sansevieria se fait régulièrement, mais de façon modérée. L’idéal étant d’arroser lorsque le sol est sec à la surface. Lorsque le sol sèche, ne pas attendre trop longtemps avant d’arroser, surtout lors de température élevée puisque la plante pourrait en souffrir. En hiver, attendez que le sol soit sec sur quelques centimètres avant d’arroser de nouveau. Préférablement, arroser le sansevieria avec de l’eau à température ambiante plus tôt qu’une eau trop froide. La différence de température pourrait induire un stress important pour la plante. Si les feuilles jaunissent et deviennent plus molle, veillez à améliorer le drainage du sol de votre plante.

Rempotage :

Le rempotage est essentiel si vous voulez que votre plante refleurisse. Plus la plante est vieille et grande, plus le rempotage nécessaire. Dans les premiers temps, un rempotage tous les 2 ou 3 ans est suffisant. Ensuite, cela dépend de la grosseur de l’arbuste. Lors du rempotage, choisissez un pot avec un diamètre légèrement plus grand et assurez-vous que le fond du pot est percé. Attention, le rempotage dans un pot trop grand fera en sorte que les racines vont se perdre dans la terre et la plante risque de mourir.