Schefflera

Home » Schefflera

Schefflera is a green plant with short, slender, lustrous leaves dispersed in small groups. The originality of its foliage, its robustness and its ease of maintenance make it one of the most common belonging plants.

Plant – Schefflera – Green Corner Florist – Montreal Florist

Quick information:

  • Family: Araliaceae
  • Type: Shrub
  • Origin: Australia, Central America, China, India, Japan
  • Flower color: red
  • Exposure: dim light
  • Flowering : summer
  • Soil: potting soil
  • Height: up to 3 meters in pot

Location and temperature:

The ideal temperature for schefflera is between 16 and 22°C (61 and 72°F). Thus, the temperature of a house or apartment is ideal for its growth. If the temperature drops below 13°C (55°F), the plant’s growth will slow down and it may lose its leaves. It should never be subjected to temperatures below 10°C (50°F). Of tropical origin, the schefflera particularly likes bright light, but direct sunlight can burn its leaves. Not afraid of drafts, it can easily find its place near a window, but should not be in too dry an environment since it loves moisture.

Watering:

During the summer and spring, the watering of the schefflera is done regularly, but moderately. The ideal is to water when the soil is dry on the surface. When the soil dries, do not wait too long before watering, especially during high temperatures since the plant may suffer. In winter, wait until the soil is dry for a few centimeters before watering again. Preferably, watering the schefflera with water at room temperature earlier than water that is too cold. The temperature difference could induce significant stress for the plant. If the leaves turn yellow and become softer, be sure to improve the drainage of your plant’s soil.

Repotting:

Repotting is essential if you want your plant to bloom again. The older and larger the plant, the more repotting is needed. In the early stages, repotting every 2 or 3 years is enough. Then it depends on the size of the shrub. When repotting, choose a pot with a slightly larger diameter and make sure that the bottom of the pot is pierced. Be careful, repotting in a pot that is too large will cause the roots to get lost in the soil and the plant may die.

Schefflera

Home » Schefflera

Le schefflera est une plante verte aux feuilles courtes, élancées, lustrées et dispersées en groupuscule. L’originalité de son feuillage, sa robustesse et sa facilité d’entretien en font l’une des plantes d’appartenant les plus communes.

Plante – Schefflera – Fleuriste Coin Vert – Fleuriste Montréal

Information rapide :

  • Famille : Araliacées
  • Type : Arbuste
  • Origine : Australie, Amérique centrale, Chine, Inde, Japon
  • Couleur des fleurs : rouge
  • Exposition : lumière tamisée
  • Floraison : été
  • Sol : terreaux
  • Hauteur : jusqu’à 3 mètres en pot

Emplacement et température :

La température idéale pour le schefflera se situe entre 16 et 22°C (61 et 72°F). Ainsi, la température d’une maison ou d’un appartement est idéale à sa croissance. Si la température descend au-dessous de 13°C (55°F), la croissance de la plante ralentira et elle risque de perdre ses feuilles. Elle ne doit jamais être soumise à des températures inférieures à 10°C (50°F). D’origine tropicale, le schefflera aime particulièrement la lumière vive, mais les rayons directs du soleil peuvent brûler ses feuilles. Ne craignant pas les courants d’air, elle peut aisément trouver sa place proche d’une fenêtre, mais ne doit pas être dans un environnement trop sec puisqu’elle adore l’humidité.

Arrosage :

Durant l’été et le printemps, l’arrosage du schefflera se fait régulièrement, mais de façon modérée. L’idéal étant d’arroser lorsque le sol est sec à la surface. Lorsque le sol sèche, ne pas attendre trop longtemps avant d’arroser, surtout lors de température élevée puisque la plante pourrait en souffrir. En hiver, attendez que le sol soit sec sur quelques centimètres avant d’arroser de nouveau. Préférablement, arroser le schefflera avec de l’eau à température ambiante plus tôt qu’une eau trop froide. La différence de température pourrait induire un stress important pour la plante. Si les feuilles jaunissent et deviennent plus molles, veillez à améliorer le drainage du sol de votre plante.

Rempotage:

Le rempotage est essentiel si vous voulez que votre plante refleurisse. Plus la plante est vieille et grande, plus le rempotage nécessaire. Dans les premiers temps, un rempotage tous les 2 ou 3 ans est suffisant. Ensuite, cela dépend de la grosseur de l’arbuste. Lors du rempotage, choisissez un pot avec un diamètre légèrement plus grand et assurez-vous que le fond du pot est percé. Attention, le rempotage dans un pot trop grand fera en sorte que les racines vont se perdre dans la terre et la plante risque de mourir.