Syngonium

Home » Syngonium

Syngonium is a houseplant that requires good conditions. It dazzles with its leaves of a bright green largely marbled cream color. Its stems lengthen over time by climbing before falling back and becoming hanging.

Plant – Syngonium (Crow’s Foot) – Green Corner Florist – Montreal Florist

Quick information:

  • Family: Araceae
  • Type: Perennial
  • Origin: Central America, South America
  • Color: green, white
  • Exposure: subdued sun
  • Flowering : summer
  • Soil: soil, water
  • Height: up to 3 meters in pot
  • Toxicity: sap is irritating to the skin

Location and temperature:

The ideal temperature for syngonium is between 15 and 21°C (59 and 70°F). Thus, the temperature of a house or apartment is ideal for its growth. If the temperature drops below 13°C (55°F), the plant’s growth will slow down and it may lose its leaves. Of tropical origin, the syngonium particularly likes bright light, but the direct rays of the sun can burn its leaves. It can live in the shade, but its growth will be slow and the color of the leaves will be affected. Not afraid of drafts, it can easily find its place near a window, but should not be in too dry an environment since it loves moisture. When the air is dry, it is advisable to spray the foliage daily.

Watering:

During the summer and spring, the watering of the syngonium is done regularly, but moderately. The ideal is to water when the soil is dry on the surface. When the soil dries, do not wait too long before watering, especially during high temperatures since the plant may suffer. In winter, wait until the soil is dry for a few centimeters before watering again. Preferably, water the syngonium with water at room temperature earlier than water that is too cold. The temperature difference could induce significant stress for the plant. If the leaves turn yellow and become softer, be sure to improve the drainage of your plant’s soil.

Repotting:

Repotting is essential if you want your plant to bloom again. The older and larger the plant, the more repotting is needed. In the early stages, repotting every 2 or 3 years is enough. Then it depends on the size of the shrub. When repotting, choose a pot with a slightly larger diameter and make sure that the bottom of the pot is pierced. Be careful, repotting in a pot that is too large will cause the roots to get lost in the soil and the plant may die.

Syngonium

Home » Syngonium

Le syngonium est une plante d’intérieur nécessitant de bonnes conditions. Elle éblouit par ses feuilles d’un vert brillant largement marbré de couleur crème. Ses tiges s’allongent avec le temps en grimpant avant de retomber et devenir pendantes.

Plante – Syngonium (Patte-d’oie) – Fleuriste Coin Vert – Fleuriste Montréal

Information rapide :

  • Famille : Aracées
  • Type : vivace
  • Origine : Amérique centrale, Amérique du Sud
  • Couleur : vert, blanc
  • Exposition : soleil tamisé
  • Floraison : été
  • Sol : terreaux, eau
  • Hauteur : jusqu’à 3 mètres en pot
  • Toxicité : la sève est irritante pour la peau

Emplacement et température :

La température idéale pour le syngonium se situe entre 15 et 21°C (59 et 70°F). Ainsi, la température d’une maison ou d’un appartement est idéale à sa croissance. Si la température descend au-dessous de 13°C (55°F), la croissance de la plante ralentira et elle risque de perdre ses feuilles. D’origine tropicale, le syngonium aime particulièrement la lumière vive, mais les rayons directs du soleil peuvent bruler ses feuilles. Il peut vivre à l’ombre, mais sa croissance sera lente et la couleur des feuilles en sera affectée. Ne craignant pas les courants d’air, elle peut aisément trouver sa place proche d’une fenêtre, mais ne doit pas être dans un environnement trop sec puisqu’elle adore l’humidité. Quand l’air est sec, il est conseillé de vaporiser le feuillage quotidiennement.

Arrosage :

Durant l’été et le printemps, l’arrosage du syngonium se fait régulièrement, mais de façon modérée. L’idéal étant d’arroser lorsque le sol est sec à la surface. Lorsque le sol sèche, ne pas attendre trop longtemps avant d’arroser, surtout lors de température élevée puisque la plante pourrait en souffrir. En hiver, attendez que le sol soit sec sur quelques centimètres avant d’arroser de nouveau. Préférablement, arroser le syngonium avec de l’eau à température ambiante plus tôt qu’une eau trop froide. La différence de température pourrait induire un stress important pour la plante. Si les feuilles jaunissent et deviennent plus molles, veillez à améliorer le drainage du sol de votre plante.

Rempotage :

Le rempotage est essentiel si vous voulez que votre plante refleurisse. Plus la plante est vieille et grande, plus le rempotage nécessaire. Dans les premiers temps, un rempotage tous les 2 ou 3 ans est suffisant. Ensuite, cela dépend de la grosseur de l’arbuste. Lors du rempotage, choisissez un pot avec un diamètre légèrement plus grand et assurez-vous que le fond du pot est percé. Attention, le rempotage dans un pot trop grand fera en sorte que les racines vont se perdre dans la terre et la plante risque de mourir.