Ficus Benjamina

Home » Ficus Benjamina

Ficus Benjamina (weeping fig tree) is a shrub with dark green foliage native to India. Also called weeping fig tree, it is certainly one of the most often sold houseplants. This venerable shrub of subtropical appearance with evergreen foliage is of a very pleasant appearance, but is a little capricious.

Plant – Dark Green Ficus Benjamina – Green Corner Florist – Montreal Florist

Quick information:

  • Family: Moraceae
  • Type: shrub
  • Origin: India
  • Color: green
  • Exposure: subdued sun
  • Flowering : summer
  • Soil: potting soil
  • Height: up to 20 meters in its natural environment

Location and temperature:

Ficus Benjamina is a shrub plant that requires a subdued light exposure. It should not be placed directly under the sun’s rays, which could burn its foliage. It will grow well at a temperature ranging from 15 to 28°C (59 to 82°F) it can also tolerate lower lighting, but its growth will be slower and its foliage less provided.

Its location is to be chosen with care since it does not like to be changed place. Each move, change in light exposure or other major disturbance will cause it to lose some of its leaves. This is a phenomenon that is hard to avoid, but can be diminished by spraying the leaves gently before moving. In addition, ficus benjamina does not tolerate drafts and rapid changes in temperature.

Watering:

It is important to water the ficus benjamina with water at room temperature, otherwise the shrub will experience stress that will cause it to lose leaves. Its substrate must also be well irrigated since it hates having the roots in the water. You have to make sure that the bottom of your pot has holes.

During summer and spring, ficus benjamina should be watered regularly, but moderately, ideally watering when the soil is dry on the surface. During the winter, preferably wait until the soil is dry for a few centimeters before watering again.

Repotting:

Repotting is essential if you want your plant to bloom again. The older and larger the plant, the more repotting is needed. In the early stages, repotting every 2 or 3 years is enough. Then it depends on the size of the shrub. When repotting, choose a pot with a slightly larger diameter and make sure that the bottom of the pot is pierced. Be careful, repotting in a pot that is too large will cause the roots to get lost in the soil and the plant may die.

Ficus Benjamina

Home » Ficus Benjamina

Le Ficus Benjamina (figuier pleureur) est une est un arbuste au feuillage vert foncé originaire d’Inde. Aussi appelé figuier pleureur, il est certainement une des plantes d’appartement le plus souvent vendu. Cet arbuste vénérable d’apparence subtropicale au feuillage persistant est d’une apparence très plaisante, mais est un peu capricieux.

Plante – Ficus Benjamina vert foncé – Fleuriste Coin Vert – Fleuriste Montréal

Information rapide :

  • Famille : Moracées
  • Type : arbuste
  • Origine : Inde
  • Couleur : vert
  • Exposition : soleil tamisé
  • Floraison : été
  • Sol : terreaux
  • Hauteur : jusqu’à 20 mètres dans son milieu naturel

Emplacement et température:

Le Ficus Benjamina est une plante arbuste qui demande une exposition de lumière tamisée. Il ne doit pas être placé directement sous les rayons du soleil qui pourrait bruler son feuillage. Il aura une bonne croissance à une température variant entre 15 et 28°C (59 à 82°F) il peut aussi tolérer un éclairage plus faible, mais sa croissance sera plus lente et son feuillage moins fournit.

Son emplacement soit être choisi avec soin puisqu’il n’aime pas être changé de place. Chaque déménagement, changement d’exposition lumineuse ou autre perturbation majeure lui feront perdre une partie de ses feuilles. Ceci est un phénomène dur à éviter, mais qui peut être diminué en vaporisant les feuilles doucement avant le déplacement. De plus, le ficus benjamina ne tolère pas les courants d’air et les changements rapides de températures.

Arrosage :

Il est important d’arroser le ficus benjamina avec de l’eau à température de la pièce sans quoi l’arbuste subira un stress qui lui fera perdre des feuilles. Son substrat doit aussi être bien irrigué puisqu’il déteste avoir les racines dans l’eau. Il faut vous assurer que le fond de votre pot à des trous.

Durant l’été et le printemps, le ficus benjamina doit être arrosé régulièrement, mais de façon modérée, l’idéal étant d’arroser lorsque le sol est sec à la surface. Durant l’hiver, attendez préférablement que le sol soit sec sur quelques centimètres avant d’arroser de nouveau.

Rempotage :

Le rempotage est essentiel si vous voulez que votre plante refleurisse. Plus la plante est vieille et grande, plus le rempotage nécessaire. Dans les premiers temps, un rempotage tous les 2 ou 3 ans est suffisant. Ensuite, cela dépend de la grosseur de l’arbuste. Lors du rempotage, choisissez un pot avec un diamètre légèrement plus grand et assurez-vous que le fond du pot est percé. Attention, le rempotage dans un pot trop grand fera en sorte que les racines vont se perdre dans la terre et la plante risque de mourir.