Money tree

Home » Money tree

The money tree or pachira aquatica, is a plant with wide and slender foliage of a dark green. Easy to maintain and able to bloom indoors at any time of the year. It is one of the most requested and best-selling houseplants. This venerable shrub associated with many beliefs can grow to reach 2 meters indoors and 20 meters outdoors. Most often you will find it come with 5 braided stems. It symbolizes financial success in Chinese culture.

Plant – Money tree – Green Corner Florist – Montreal Florist

Quick information:

  • Family: Bombaceae
  • Type: shrub
  • Origin: Mexico, Central America
  • Color: green
  • Exposure: bright light
  • Flowering: throughout the year indoors
  • Soil: potting soil
  • Height: up to 20 meters in its natural environment

Location and location:

The ideal temperature for the money tree is around 20°C (68°F). However, it can withstand higher heat if its leaves are not exposed directly to the sun. Thus, the temperature of a house or apartment is ideal for growing pachira aquatica. If the temperature drops below 13°C (55°F), the plant’s growth will slow down and it should never be subjected to temperatures below 5°C (41°F). The ideal place to install your money tree is a place that receives a very bright light without having the direct rays of the sun. Absolutely avoid the proximity of a heat source such as a radiator.

Watering:

During the summer and spring, the watering of the money tree is done regularly, but in a moderate way. The ideal is to water when the soil is dry on the surface. When the soil dries, do not wait too long before watering, especially during high temperatures since the plant may suffer. In winter, wait until the soil is dry for a few centimeters before watering again. Preferably, water the money tree with water at room temperature earlier than water that is too cold. The temperature difference could induce significant stress for the plant. If the leaves turn yellow, be sure to improve the drainage of your plant’s soil.

Repotting:

Repotting is essential if you want your plant to bloom again. The older and larger the plant, the more repotting is needed. In the early stages, repotting every 2 or 3 years is enough. Then it depends on the size of the shrub. When repotting, choose a pot with a slightly larger diameter and make sure that the bottom of the pot is pierced. Be careful, repotting in a pot that is too large will cause the roots to get lost in the soil and the plant may die.

Money tree

Home » Money tree

Le money tree ou pachira aquatica, est une est une plante au feuillage large et élancé d’un vert foncé. Facile d’entretien et pouvant fleurir à l’intérieur à tout moment de l’année. Il est l’une des plantes d’appartement parmi les plus demandés et les plus vendus. Cet arbuste vénérable associé à de nombreuses croyances peut grandir pour atteindre 2 mètres à l’intérieur et 20 mètres à l’extérieur. Le plus souvent, vous la trouverez venue avec 5 tiges tressées. Elle symbolise dans la culture chinoise la réussite financière.

Plante – Money tree – Fleuriste Coin Vert – Fleuriste Montréal

Information rapide :

  • Famille : Bombacées
  • Type : arbuste
  • Origine : Mexique, Amérique centrale
  • Couleur : vert
  • Exposition : lumière vive
  • Floraison : tout au long de l’année à l’intérieur
  • Sol : terreaux
  • Hauteur : jusqu’à 20 mètres dans son milieu naturel

Emplacement et empérature :

La température idéale pour le money tree se situe autour de 20°C (68°F). Cependant, il peut résister à des chaleurs supérieures si ses feuilles ne sont pas exposées directement au soleil. Ainsi, la température d’une maison ou d’un appartement est idéale à la culture du pachira aquatica. Si la température descend au-dessous de 13°C (55°F), la croissance de la plante ralentira et elle ne doit jamais être soumise à des températures inférieures à 5°C (41°F). L’endroit idéal pour installer votre money tree est un endroit qui reçoit une lumière très vive sans avoir les rayons directs du soleil. Évitez absolument la proximité d’une source de chaleur comme un radiateur.

Arrosage :

Durant l’été et le printemps, l’arrosage du money tree se fait régulièrement, mais de façon modérée. L’idéal étant d’arroser lorsque le sol est sec à la surface. Lorsque le sol sèche, ne pas attendre trop longtemps avant d’arroser, surtout lors de température élevée puisque la plante pourrait en souffrir. En hiver, attendez que le sol soit sec sur quelques centimètres avant d’arroser de nouveau. Préférablement, arroser le money tree avec de l’eau à température ambiante plus tôt qu’une eau trop froide. La différence de température pourrait induire un stress important pour la plante. Si les feuilles jaunissent, veillez à améliorer le drainage du sol de votre plante.

Rempotage :

Le rempotage est essentiel si vous voulez que votre plante refleurisse. Plus la plante est vieille et grande, plus le rempotage nécessaire. Dans les premiers temps, un rempotage tous les 2 ou 3 ans est suffisant. Ensuite, cela dépend de la grosseur de l’arbuste. Lors du rempotage, choisissez un pot avec un diamètre légèrement plus grand et assurez-vous que le fond du pot est percé. Attention, le rempotage dans un pot trop grand fera en sorte que les racines vont se perdre dans la terre et la plante risque de mourir.